top of page
Search

Reflection of Leadership Prep Program

Updated: Jan 18, 2021

Seven members of our Leadership Prep Program reflect on their experiences shadowing our executive board and what it takes to grow a new organization.



Over this past Winter Break, a group of members from Females in Finance joined forces with the Executive Board to form the Leadership Prep Program. This program allowed for these members to learn leadership, communication, and organizational skills. Each of the members in the LPP met with all of the Executive Board members and learned what it takes to be a leader for DeFIF. They were all assigned tasks by the E-board members and each of them completed them in a timely and orderly manner. Of the members from Females in Finance, Elizabeth Boyle, Nicole Juszczyk, Hanna Scofield, Isabella Bransky, Madeleine Fesas, Dilyana Dimitrova, and Diya Rao participated in the Leadership Prep Program. Listed below is what some of them had to say.


“During my time in the Leadership Prep Program, I was able to gain significant understanding of all the handwork and commitment that goes towards running DePaul Females in Finance Initiative. After meeting with each member of the E-Board, we were able to learn about each specific role and what their duties entail. After this two week experience, my confidence has significantly increased. I feel more confident in communicating with other members and planning events. I am very grateful for my experience in the leadership prep program because I was able to connect with many other women in this organization. In order for this organization to function properly, a lot of collaboration and teamwork is necessary. I was impressed by the e-board member's willingness to help one another. It is reassuring to know that the e-board is always there for one another. I loved getting to know more about each position and I am looking forward to Winter Quarter!”

-Elizabeth Boyle


“Through my involvement in the Leadership Prep Program, I was able to further develop my skills in multiple areas such as marketing, team-work, and presentation. Several projects that I have participated in, such as flyer design, event planning, and message coordination, have allowed me to strengthen my ability to effectively share ideas and develop projects. As a result of working together with other individuals, I have developed my organization and communication abilities. I look forward to enriching the DePaul Females in Finance club by planning future events, designing future flyers, and networking with industry professionals. I am excited to see my efforts come to fruition and bring members of DePaul Females in Finance enjoyment and development.”


-Dilyana Dimitrova


“I found the entire LPP experience amazing! It was so eye opening to shadow each member and see how much effort they each put into their roles. As part of the LPP, not only did I learn an incredible amount from each female, but I also witnessed how they all work together as a team, encouraging, supporting, and empowering each other forward. Together, the E-board have created an atmosphere of respect while encouraging each other to step out of their comfort zones and empowering those who do with the confidence and tools to do so. Everyone truly supports each other by stepping up to help when someone might have too much on their plate, allowing candid communication and meaningful friendships to form. I am so happy for the opportunity to participate in this program! It has already taught me so much about what a passionate group of women can accomplish and granted me the opportunity to form close friendships not only with current E-board members but also my LPP peers. I cannot wait to see what else I will learn!”

-Madeleine Fesas


“The Leadership Prep Program was a great opportunity to look at DeFIF from behind the scenes. The program was really well thought through and did a great job introducing the participants to the time management and task prioritizing skills that are necessary to pull off leading DeFIF. From day one, it became apparent that all of the executive board members care deeply about the organisation and its members. I additionally enjoyed getting to know the other participants of the Leadership Prep Program. Being a part of this experience was incredibly valuable and an absolute delight.”

-Hanna Scofield


“Everyone in the group is so welcoming and friendly that I felt included right off the bat! Admittedly, I was worried that joining the club/prep program later than everyone else would have come with some adversity; However, everyone made me feel like a valued counterpart whose opinions were respected and wanted! This was really impressive and unique. The only critique I have is for E-Board members to finalize a deliverable method for task assignment. I think this could be useful for providing clarity and increasing overall uniformity. I liked how some girls sent a task description/due date in the chat. A similar idea would be to utilize the Microsoft "To Do" app that partners with Microsoft Office and allows Teams members to assign each other tasks, while including associated notes/files/due dates. Other than that, I think that the E-Board has done a fantastic job with developing and running this program. It definitely has prepared me with good insight into all of the governance and operational matters of the organization. Also, I love hearing how much this organization matters to the E-Board; Hearing everyone's personal testimonies has been really inspiring and makes me even more committed to the initiative.”

-Isabella Bransky


Next winter, our program will accept applications again and we highly encourage all members who are interested to apply!


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page