top of page
Search

Sharpen Your Goals & Pursue Your Passions

Updated: Jan 18, 2021

Our executive board member, Eleni Kritikos reflects on how she found her career interest in consulting and the journey that led her there.


When exploring careers, I knew I enjoyed challenges and I knew that I wanted to help businesses solve problems with a nurturing and dynamic team. The Strobel’s Honors Accountancy Program and The Keeley Center Academy introduced me to practical courses that gave me an opportunity to mirror what I would experience within the accounting and finance fields.

Specifically, Banking & Credit Analysis and Investment Banking, taught by Professor Essenburg, exposed me to case studies. There is no absolutely rigid way to solve a case, fostering my love for critical thinking and problem solving. As I went through the application process I found that case studies within consulting, although different than Professor Essenburg’s courses, relied on these strengths and gave me the confidence to apply. It was a difficult process to study, yet I was thrilled to practice these case studies during my interview process, confirming my decision to pursue consulting.

Although consulting seemed to fit my professional goals, I was not entirely fulfilled. Language-learning has always been a passion of mine as I attended Greek school when I was young and have continued my Spanish courses with my minor in Commercial Spanish. I love pursuing immersion in different cultures and interactions with diverse groups of people. That is why I hoped to have a career where I can utilize my language skills and meet others of different cultures while also incorporating my goal in helping companies grow. This has led me to my upcoming internship as a Global Services Consulting intern at Plante Moran this summer where I will be in contact with international clients, focused in Latin America.

DePaul’s Females in Finance and various alumni have supported and guided me towards better understanding my career goals. DeFIF has shown me the value of support in a professional environment and has connected me with like-minded females who remind me of the importance of community. Alumni have played a fundamental role in helping me understand what consulting entails and the necessary steps to pursue consulting. Reach out and build connections with as many alumni as you can, they want to see you succeed!


64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page